Knut Hansen

This is traditional jazz & dance music as played in dancehalls and restaurants with dancefloors featuring live bands during the 50s and 60s in Norway.
This is one of Scandinavias oldest existing bands, deserving to be compared with the Buena Vista Social Club Orchestra from Havana, rediscovered in the late 90s.

Knut Hansen b.1925 was a legendary bandleader, trumpeter and arranger and very much responsible for the evolution of jazz traditions in the old whaling city of Sandefjord during the last century.

This city has many bands and musicians, but being a member of Knut Hansens entitles great respect.
Odd Aspaas has taken over the leadership of his band as he most unfortuneatly passed away 1986.

Odd Aspaas - TRP
Helge Ronning - TRP
Daniel Loken - TRP / Tenorsax
Arne Hjalmar Knap - Banjo / Cl / Tenorsax
Kjell Kristiansen - Voc / Cl / Altosax
Bernt Brinck-Johnsen - Tenorsax / Baritonsax
Jan Engebretsen - Piano
Erik Hjerpekjon - Bass
Tor Erik Bjerke - Drms

Recorded 2004
RR 0404

01. The Continental
02. Misty
03. In the Still of the Night
04. Pennies from Heaven
05. Faar jeg by deg en tango
06. Lengsel
07. Take the A Train
08. Sweet Lorraine
09. Blue Moon
10. Canal Street blues
11. I Surrender Dear
12. So Nice
13. Fidgety Feet
14. Yardbird Suite

Buy this CD